Stacks Image 335

Cinque Terre

 The “Cinque Terre”, translated “Five Lands”, is a rugged portion of the coast of the Italian Riviera located west of the city of La Spezia.  It is composed of five villages:  Monterosso, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore.  Man-made terraces of soil and rock have been built over the centuries into the rugged, steep landscape going up to the cliffs overlooking the sea.  The vineyards have been planted on these man-made terraces.  The Cooperativa Agricoltura constructed its headquarters in Groppo di Riomaggiore in 1982 and now has 300 members. Considerable investments have been made to advance the oenological technologies.